139: May Days

19 May

I’m sitting in my drawing room, at my dining table, with all my doors open and the fan on full whack, with some amazing music on, and just enjoying this Friday evening that is. We’ve been experiencing the tease of cloudy, grey skies for a couple of days now; and it finally drizzled while I was taking attendance today. As it drizzled, I asked my noisy bunch to stay still, take in the weather, relax and ease into our Friday morning while I took attendance. As if and what was I thinking asking a bunch of energetic, active teens to sit still. Stupid me. However, their fate twisted in my favour when they were told to participate in a story-writing activity which required them to sit quietly and think. Haha! I looked out of my window and into the lawn, savouring in every moment of this precious petrichor that came my way, while my teens worked on their adventurous creative story.

A has just come back home and we’re both hanging around, as the weather takes a turn for the better. This maddening breeze has taken over our overcast sky, as always and on cue, so I’m just going to take it all in before the clouds dissipate and vanish to feed other parched souls somewhere else. The windstorms that visit us here, come with an altogether spellbinding force. Everything in this part of the country runs on extremes; and I speculate that generations of emotions, mindsets, moods, and ways of behaviour have taken their own sense of identity due to the weather we have here. There’s both a sense of friskiness and seriousness, black and white, highs and lows. There are no in-betweens whatsoever. And as I speak, we have a full-blown dust storm raging outside, simultaneously colouring my grey sky brown.

Let’s not get into what happened to those precious clouds. :[

But it’s the weekend, and I must find a way to step out in this madness to get my weekend in order. I hope you have a lovely Friday. :)

 

 

Comments

