122: Impromptu

2 May

In being caught up with my work and owing to the nature of my work, drawing lines and boundaries becomes both necessary and difficult. I’ve failed a 100% at leaving work in school just as how successfully I’ve managed to leave home out of my work. It’s not where I imagined being and neither is where I want to be. 

Yesterday was so overwhelmingly exhausting that it showed on me before I could realise it. A couple of my colleagues asked me if all was well, which I affirmed. 

And then I couldn’t get out of bed today. It has been everything and all that put together in a nasty combination of fatigue. I’d say a lot of me is taking undue and unnecessary stress; a hazard that met its fate soon enough. An impromptu leave to recoup was requisitioned post which I woke up only to a phone call from work a couple of hours later. 

My husband made us tea and breakfast, which was a treat. The day has passed, during which I did nothing else. Yet it feels like I’ve been up to my nose in work and tasks, as if to jab at my sense of productivity. 

Couple that with being in an antsy and crabby mood, and it has turned out to be a break of sorts. When did I get so caught up to feel this useless and irritable about things in general? Classic signs of stress and burning out, if I were to diagnose myself. 

Too much for an impromptu late evening walk to salvage, either. Sigh. 

Comments

