81: Two Steps Ahead

22 Mar

Today is a far cry from what most days generally feel like. When I’m not swamped in thoughts about how to tackle the many things that need doing even if I don’t want to or have to do them, most of the day slips past me till its time to hit the sack and begin all over again. Succumbing to the internally and externally placed pressures was not how I imagined myself to arise from these ashes, so to speak. In my head, everything was sorted, compartmentalized, and even dealt with with some amount of calmness and a great amount of self-efficacy. I’d even bought a planner for myself with inspirational quotes splashed all over it for added effect, not that my mind’s plans needed extra frills to feel productive or motivated.

But that’s the difference between figuring out things from afar and actually diving headlong into them. A week into the work scenario, this time armed with additional responsibilities and duties, juggling them all became more overwhelming than I’d fathomed. How do women around me do it, I’d ask myself repeatedly. What’s their magic mantra? Most often I’d find the spirit to drown my fears by seeking inspiration from living examples all around me, sometimes I’d give in and just sleep.

It’s now been three weeks since I started work, which hasn’t even begun in full-swing yet, and here’s what I’ve learnt so far:

Don’t think too much.

Don’t take on too much.

Too much does not mean too much.

Also, no one cares about how much.

Planning works.

Planning ahead with lists works even better.

Creating mental menus for the week is a God send.

Working for today and tomorrow is the way to go sometimes.

Stop caring obsessively.

Stay two steps ahead.

And while you’re at it, get some or a lot of sleep, if you can.

*******

It all looked easier than it was, when I put this in practice. Planning and preparing two three meals ahead in time was more mentally strenuous than physically; because as it turns out, if you’ve got everything in place, 3/4th of your work is done. The hardest times are those when I’ve no idea what to make – for our upcoming dinner, for breakfast and lunch the next day.

Besides, getting myself to not care or obsess or just stop was harder still.

But each passing week seems to give me a little more space to gain some footing.

I’ve got three meals, two snacks and one class prepared for before 5pm; which makes me feel like a queen, I’ll tell you.

It helps to give time and experience the advantage.

And it also helps heaps to just be two steps ahead for anything and everything, in general. :)

Comments

