26: It’s The 26th!

26 Jan

As my country woke up to its 68th Republic Day, I found myself awake at a time when I was hoping to be ensconced in a comfortable sleep instead. It was much before the parade was due to start anyway, and the idea of reading in bed did strike my fancy when I woke up at 5am, this morning. I would’ve ideally loved to get out, sneak a bake in, get back into bed, and then wake up to the divinity of a freshly baked cake or muffins, perfect for a weekday holiday indulgence. It would’ve also made me feel super productive, efficient, and capable. But I sneaked a peek at my phone instead, and drifted back into sleep, thankfully.

I woke up well in time for the parade, and having prepped today’s meals yesterday, because I was feeling efficient and not because the parade was to be on (it’d slipped my mind, to be honest), everything went on smoothly. We had our rounds of tea, breakfast, and I even made it to watch the anthem, the 21 gun salute, and of course the entire parade, in time. At first we were on NDTV, but nothing of national significance is complete without featuring our national channel DD on it, no? So we switched to DD instead, and relived numerous moments from our childhood via this simple switch. It’s amazing how so much has changed, and yet how DD still remains the same. So much so that it even missed the proper coverage of the sukhoi formation. Sigh. But I did love the presenter and the language she used. So much grace, and so much dignity.

Either way, the weather has turned for the worse here. We’ve switched on the lights so early, and it’s a grossly saddening experience to endure. The storm outside makes me want to find my comfort in a hearty meal or an engrossing book. I wanted to do a bit of shopping but that’s ruled out. Moreover, since every single cop in and around NCR has been deployed for R-Day duties, it’s quite a challenge to go out on roads with no authorities supervising them. Lol.

Anyhoo guys, it’s the 26th, it’s a holiday; you’re probably on a long weekend break if you booked in advance, or are just doing more holiday things instead of staring at a screen. It’s time for me to get out of here as well, and see what I can treat myself to, in this wretched weather. Happy Republic Day, peeps!

2 Responses to “26: It’s The 26th!”

  1. anyone4curryandotherthings January 26, 2017 at 6:00 PM #

    Enjoyed your article and viewing ndtv today. Sadly computer broke down an hour ago, big big problem (but tel. Is working) will comment in depth next week when comp is repaired. Carina

    • Babushka January 26, 2017 at 6:31 PM #

      Aww Carina, may your computer get well soonest! :)

Comments

