13: And This Day Has Finally Arrived…

13 Jan

…where I stare at the laptop and wonder what to write about. It was bound to happen and I’m surprised and shocked it didn’t happen earlier somehow… I want to write about just how cold the past few days have been, how I’m craving a good helping of khichdi because it’s so cold, and maybe even about an odd rant or two about the goings on in my life – but that’s so mundane and blasé, that even I wouldn’t want to actually write about it, forget read it. This Friday the 13th has done its job with respect to my writing plans. :P

Sankranti is here, and falls in line with this craving for moong dal I’ve been having for sometime now – you know, this steaming bowl of very light dal to just appease my senses and warm the insides of my being like nothing else possibly can, on these very cold days. There is nothing like the embrace of hot, perfectly cooked dal, and it’s one I can hold on to every single day, and for ever. So I’m thinking Sankranti calls for the mingling of these two cravings I’ve been having – moong dal and khichdi – to complete this harvest festival in true festive style with a bowl of pongal. Yum. It takes me back to the days at work when I’d treat myself to a helping of this delightful Tamil dish, sometimes even in the morning. I love the comfort, the hug, and the burst of pepper it springs my way. Love it. So that’s taken care of.

That apart, I don’t seem to have the head-space for much writing today.

What I do have space for, is this track which, according to me, was the best thing about ADHM. It’s finally on YouTube (the last time I checked, which was just after the watching the movie, it wasn’t there). Love it. The original is one of my all time favourites. Have a listen, and a very happy Friday, folks! :)

Comments

