3: Looking Back On 2016

4 Jan

In a lazy person’s ideal world, which is mine a lot of the time, everything gets put away for another time and date – procrastination rules. And so I haven’t ever looked back or reminisced on the passing of a year with composition, or even by practice. I always put it off for another day, and before I know it, it’s too late and the moment passes. Because I have time at hand, giving 2016’s reminisce a shot seemed very doable, and it has been on my mind for sometime now. And then I came across The Girl Next Door’s year-end recollection theme, which seemed to make the task less intimidating and more easy to tackle. She’s been kind enough to let me take it forward, and I’m hoping to do the same; because it’s quite a great yardstick to have the support of. I’ve taken the liberty to tweak some of the questions to make this more relevant to my year and experiences. Here goes:

What have you done in 2016 that you’ve never done before?

There are so, so many things to list down here thanks to it being the first year of my marriage – which itself takes the cake, if I’m to be honest. But here are a few that top the list:
a) Got my marriage registered
b) Went back home to Bangalore for the very first time after leaving – what an overwhelming experience that was
c) Went white water rafting on Ganga, at Rishikesh…and if that wasn’t enough of a dare for me (who is scared of water), I got off the raft and floated along her waters, and kissed my husband while I was at it – it’s an indescribable experience.
d) Had bhaang ki thandaai (a milk-based drink laced with marijuana) – it’s overrated
e) Experienced the Ganga arti at Haridwar – fantastic, overwhelming, and not for people who can’t handle crowds
f) Opened a bakery stall at a festive carnival
g) Ran a house, and adult big time on that front
h) Seen more destinations in the northern part of our country that I ever have, before
i) Loved like I never have. Marriage is a different ball game altogether
j) Attended two football games at a stadium, with all the frills and thrills of being a VVIP at the stand. Haha!

Did you keep or see 2016’s resolutions through? Are there any for 2017?

No, I didn’t keep any. And no, I don’t really have any resolutions for 2017 as such.

What date/time/experience of 2016’s will remain etched in your memory, and why?

The first time I got rejected on a job prospect I really was hoping to see through, because failure and I don’t go well at all. Especially when it was all new to me – the place, this experience of marriage, the people, the culture…everything was brand new, unknown, and unfamiliar. And that was one thing I was hoping would validate me in more ways than one.

On a brighter note, there are so many experiences from the past year that I’ve filed under the super precious category; my most recent and favourite experience being – riding via the fields and narrow roads of Goa at night, just A and I, and shooting stars for company. Magical.

What was your biggest achievement of the year?

To keep my emotions in check and think before I speak, to not give fear the pedestal in my life that it previously used to occupy, to let go and learn to be vulnerable all over again with love.

What was your biggest failure?

Not gathering my guts and driving.

Did your health suffer?

Physically: I realised the havoc that birth control pills can wreak on my body.
Emotionally: It was a year of more learning than I’d signed up for – it was a challenge, and a tough ride a lot of the times. But understanding the importance of communication and trust made the troughs and peaks smoother and easier to experience.
Mentally: 2016 taught me to LET GO in caps. And it worked wonders.

Where did most of your money go?

Food, and travel. From whatever was left in my kitty, post all the wedding expenses, and with being unemployed.

What did you get exceptionally excited about?

The travels we’ve had…the prospects of exploring all the places we visited. And of course, the cab and plane rides that took me back to Bangalore. Nothing beat that feeling.

What song belongs to 2016?

This song was mine on loop:

 

Compared to the previous year, was 2016 happier or sadder?

It was a roller coaster ride, that’s what it was. 2015 was the year when I decided to take the plunge, and took it. 2016 followed close behind, watching my every step as a married woman trying to find her feet, and not falter. 2016 was liberating in many, many ways. 2016 was also more gripping – emotionally, and mentally. I’d like to believe I’m always on the lookout for rainbows. 2015 gave me innumerable opportunities to do exactly what I wanted to, because I was leaving home. 2016 took away all of those chances for me because I moved. I wouldn’t call it a sadder year, just an immensely more trying year for me on all levels.

What do you wish you’d done more of?

Enjoy this compulsory sabbatical I am on.

What do you wish you’d done less of?

Take life and its happenings so seriously.

Did you fall in love in 2016?

Oh man, I fell too many times, in and because of love. Hahaha!

What did you want, and get?

Communication. Lots of love. Patience. Peace. Opportunities to spend time with friends. Conversations. Love making. Tandoori chicken!

What did you want, and not get?

A job!

What did you do on birthday, and how old did you turn?

I clocked the big Three O in 2016. And I was whisked away on a surprise getaway to Jaipur to immerse myself in some luxury and lots of magic which emanates from Jaipur automatically.

What is the one thing that would’ve made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

Accepting my circumstances, and the twists and turns of fate.

What kept you sane?

Conversations with my mum, family, friends, and of course, A.

A valuable life lesson you learned in 2016?

You’re greater than the sum of your parts, and the consequences that life throws your way.
Stop fretting over all that is not under your control.
Happiness is an experience, not a thing or a possession.
And lastly, that home is a feeling.

:)

Which new places did you visit?

Rishikesh, Haridwar, Kausani, Kasauli, Govardhan, Chokori, Shimla, and Kufri.

A lyric or quote that you identify with this year?

This will always be my go-to by Lee Ann Womack:

When you get the chance to sit it out or dance, I hope you dance.

A picture that sums up this year for you?


Here’s tagging Child of MonsoonBantering Bangalorean, and Ms. PM to hopefully take this forward, should you guys want to. :)

4 Responses to “3: Looking Back On 2016”

  1. The Girl Next Door January 4, 2017 at 4:56 PM #

    Loved reading this! I’m so glad the meme gave you a chance to introspect. :)
    Here’s wishing 2017 brings you good luck and the job that you seem to want so badly!

    • Babushka January 4, 2017 at 5:12 PM #

      Thank you… let’s hope for the best for everybody. :)

  2. Priyanka January 4, 2017 at 6:48 PM #

    2017..Keep them coming!! Cos’ you’ll have me reading them all and not missing out even one! :)

    • Babushka January 4, 2017 at 7:01 PM #

      Hehehe! Do you want to do the EOY meme? I’ll tag you too :)

Comments

