Sneaky Disguises

12 Aug

I’m afraid I have what is otherwise called a writer’s block; except mine seems to be parading town in the guise of busyness, if you please. What a scam job.

At first I really did think that a lot was going on with my life – with nothing new added to it, I’d like to note. Agreeably, there was a lot of travel of the happy, beautiful kind where copious amounts of sleep and hydration were also bartered in return for extra time with family and friends, and of course, lesser highway pit stops. But while these two did do their best to get back at me by knocking my socks far away from me, it wouldn’t be fair in the absolute sense, to hold them responsible for this absence. Or so I’d like to believe.

However, a block is a block and a block will always be thick, self-centred and egoistic about the space it deems fit to occupy from person to person. Like I said, I was fooled into believing that fatigue, stress and travel, in general, had gotten the better of me; what with me having gone as far as to question my ageing process. What a fiend, this one.

But I’m of the belief that writing helps tackle blocks, even if you spew shittier shit out, from time to time. Perhaps it’s the closest analogy to tackling a hangover – with another beer, they say. And so here I am, writing with no particular aim or theme in mind, surrounded by the claps and roaring of thunder that only threatens to disable my wifi connection just before I hit the publish button.

Given that it is Friday, therefore a permissive and fine time to tease my caffeine sensitivity, filter coffee has been had. A strong will + filter coffee somehow tends to work better as a team. The rain has started, I feel pumped up and alert, also seemingly satisfied to have consumed said caffeine around the fine ambience that my surroundings presently are, and of course, my block seems less stubborn – I’m thinking about what to write tomorrow. See?

It’s another thing that that was just a thought. Someone did say that actions speak louder than words, or, erm, thoughts, in this case.

Here’s hoping for persistence and a more hardcore approach to box this block away. In the mean time, I hope your Friday evening goes as fine and smooth as perfectly put eyeliner.

(I read that somewhere and found it to be divine without a doubt).

Comments

