Random Afternoon WhatsApp Conversations

20 Jul

The girls and I, we have a group…but of course. There are more than one in number…some consisting of old classmates, another consisting of a smaller bunch of said classmates who’ve been more communicative than the larger whole…some that comprise really close friends, some comprising family members, cousins, even colleagues; you name it and it’s probably there. We all are a part of at least one group somewhere in this cosmos of WhatsApp, one might as well admit; mostly voluntarily but sometimes obligatory and sometimes unknowingly even. Isn’t it?

The great thing is that geography doesn’t pack as hard a punch when you’re conversing on these groups; the special ones, the most. Nothing can of course replace being physically present with the people you want to guffaw your guts out with, but this comes close, and quite at the cost of startled looks from one’s spouse or family or even strangers who might find themselves in the presence of said mobile-derived guffaw. The great thing is that that guffaw happens anyway. Or the frenetic pecking of the keypad, packed with the same energy your words would be filled with if you were out there, employed to provide that much needed girlfriend advice that was warranted. Oh WhatsApp, you’ve made the world grow smaller, that’s for sure.

So while C (who was certain she needed that black coffee post disappointing rounds of milk coffee), R (who was also contemplating a cuppa black), N (who was away and being productive at work) and I were chatting, the topic of coffee which was doing the rounds made me think of this.

Tea Phobia

Do you have this? I was somewhat ashamed to admit that I did, in fact, have this fear nestled quite unapologetically in me. I felt snobbish, which I will admit I am when it comes to many things. C confirmed that she automatically expects bad tea or coffee, which makes the appearance of that occasional decent bevvy a pleasant surprise, to which R concurred. It’s one of those things that doesn’t stop a million what ifs in my head when I have tea from places other than where I like drinking my tea or coffee from. The reality of insipid, watery, tasteless, stale, reheated, or worst still, cups of tea or coffee with floating islands of malai in them, is one that looms large on this already fretful mind, oftentimes leading to my not having said tea or coffee no matter how badly I might want one.

While I was looking for this picture to share on the group, I also came across these very random but cute ones.

Toast Phobia

Flamingo Phobia

I’m certain that these aren’t as real or anywhere close to being real like tepidophobia is. I’m not even certain if tepidophobia is paramount enough to be classified as a disorder in the ICD or DSM yet. But looking at how taking selfies has landed up as a classified, official disorder, I won’t be surprised if this makes it there too someday.

However, in the mean time, here’s what caused a slight guffaw on many a group today. Simple cartoons brimming with expressions and randomness are sometimes just what we need to see humpday through, no? I guess it’s all about keeping it simple and real, or random sometimes.

PS, I really loved the flamingo one. Whodathunkofthat?! Also, to be culture fair, perhaps a crow would be a better option.

5 Responses to “Random Afternoon WhatsApp Conversations”

  1. banteringbangalorean July 20, 2016 at 7:48 PM #

    Here’s to more coffee/tea, conversations and giggles

  2. banteringbangalorean July 20, 2016 at 7:52 PM #

    ☕🙌

    • Babushka July 20, 2016 at 7:59 PM #

      Hehe, yes! And more randomness in the name of pictures, anecdotes, rants and more :)

  3. terrimadden2016 July 23, 2016 at 11:44 PM #

    It’s important to know what you are drinking Babushka, stick with safety, love your writing, first time view for me, regards, Terri

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Throwing Back, This Thursday | Babska's Journey - July 21, 2016

    […] was a little apprehensive about the coffee; as I always am about tea/coffee as mentioned about in my previous post; but desperately needed some. It was the best decision off the menu, ever. Hideout Cafe makes one […]

Comments

