Back Home

18 Jul

It’s so nice to watch the word ‘home’ being typed out so naturally…home; where I am with my husband, in a place that is ours and whose nooks and crannies we are familiar and comfortable with, whose walls we know and wherein lie the bed sheets and pillows that make sleep feel like the companion we know it to be. Home, where most importantly, the bathroom makes my now very rigid fussiness feel completely at ease. It’s good to be back home after what was a beautiful break from the heat, the city, the mindless humidity, the tiring demands of routine and of course, a break from work altogether.

I’ve never really written a travelogue because I don’t know how to, or rather, it hasn’t come to me yet. Travel has, always to be sure, been followed by getting back to work and a pile of work at that. Therefore, on the pretext of what I can only term as yet another excuse, getting down to writing that travelogue has never happened. I’ve realised it takes more than just those words you’d accumulated so carefully with your mind’s eye to write about travelling…that it, to a large extent, requires me to invoke the entire experience all over again in order to feel, see, and incorporate whatever it is that needs saying. And that’s why, I guess, that writing has been kept at the back burner to remain forgotten thanks to the demands of corporate/work life.

It was a marvellous break in many ways. It was for the very first time that I revelled in not having to worry about making my bed as soon as I got up or about following my morning routine which centres around the arrival and tidings of my house help. It was beautiful to waddle around in my shorts and to be able to pick up the phone and ask for things to be brought to me. Besides, there was no need to even venture towards cleaning up after. Of course living in hotel rooms has its many cons to the pros that sparkle their way to the forefront of a holiday experience, but the joy in not having to worry about all this was a (scary) reminder that a) I’ve gotten into a routine which has become more mechanical than it need be, and b) my life has become a lot about looking after a house. It was a realisation that did bite and one I’m still chewing on when it comes to that.

However, there wasn’t much to ponder over since we were mostly on the move barring the times it rained. There is always so much to see even if we don’t do the regular touristy stuff, which is always. I think what works for us is that we despise crowds and that we both love going for walks/drives and chancing upon the things we do. We are still getting used to each other while on holiday, but we’re learning, that much is for sure.

Many pictures were taken, a lot of food was had even if it was over highway stops filled with refreshing glasses of chai (sometimes thick, sometimes ripe with cardamom, sometimes gingery, sometimes thin; all perfect in their own way) and maggi. It’s heartening to see boards of maggi adverts appear because not only does it make a quick snack/meal but it also makes the hysteric in me feel safe. Omelettes and maggi; two things I can almost always have anywhere in this country without a second thought.

I’m glad we got this chance and that we took it. We did see and learn a lot, as always. We also did get to see a side of our country neither of us had ever visited before. I wish I could write and share more while it’s still fresh in my mind; however I’ve also begun to realise that the after effects of travel are far more pronounced now than they were when we were younger. Here’s me signing off to gather my energy in time for the next post here. :)

4 Responses to “Back Home”

  1. banteringbangalorean July 18, 2016 at 2:42 PM #

    Missed seeing pictures on/in(?!) this post but glad i got to see them all on Fb. :) <3

  2. Diya July 18, 2016 at 4:41 PM #

    Sigh… I know exactly how you feel. Somehow writing about a wonderful holiday seems harder than writing about anything else :) Good to hear you had a relaxing break. Welcome back :)

    • Babushka July 18, 2016 at 10:33 PM #

      Thank you, Diya. Gearing up to read your posts soon. :)

Comments

