When It Rained More Than Rain

21 Jun

Yesterday was a Monday of all sorts – a mixed bag of the expected and the unexpected. Yesterday the rains came with a statement in tow; one that announced and pronounced its arrival and one that also held an assurance that it was here to stay. Or so I gauged from its language.

Never have I waited so much for it to rain because I never have been a rain person. Having lived in a city like Bangalore whose weather doesn’t really necessitate the dire need for rain, it also is a city which cannot handle rain as well as its environs make us believe it can. After all, who doesn’t want to experience that truly amazing weather with a hot bevvy as one watches brown and yellow turn to lush green? It is an affair that is etched into my memory with every single detail intact, but not one that warrants a craving of sorts. If you’ve experienced Bangalore’s overcast skies, frolicking breeze, happy trees and its general sense and idea of celebration, then one doesn’t really need or miss the rain.

But yesterday’s downpour made me realise just what this phenomenon means to the rest of the country which gets sucked dry from summer’s cruel white heat. Apart from the gradual shift from longing for some respite to the desperate urgency with which one prays for this miracle, witnessing rain has never felt more special to me. When everything in and around you wants to give up and just surrender to the heat because you have nothing more to give, the hope which a grey cloud can bring is something I never expected or fathomed from that metaphorical grey cloud.

When it first threatened to rain, I was sceptical because the onset of grey clouds doesn’t necessarily usher the arrival of rain. On checking my weather app, my doubts were confirmed. However, the soothing feel of what only felt like the advent of rain only became stronger; the breeze voiced itself harder, the clouds stood their ground despite the swirling dance of the wind and soon enough, those drops landed way too fast for even their sizzle to be heard or felt.

It felt flippant at first, so suited for a Monday…where one doesn’t want to work but has to. And so it rained in that manner for a short while. But I’m not quite sure what happened next because it feels like someone turned a switch on and there was no looking back. The rain went berserk, was all over the place, and in every direction. It didn’t take long for every child to be out on the streets, to cheer and celebrate the madness that ensued. It didn’t take very long to notice that rain, and the onset of monsoon in general, is perhaps one of those phenomena that India celebrates as a collective.

IMG_3879

IMG_3871

IMG_3405

Nature has her way of speaking, of stepping up, of making it alright. To believe in her power, her omnipresence and her wealth, is something I follow. There is a sense of relief in knowing that she will stand up and take charge when all else is lost to man and his sickening ways. Everyone, in their own way, bowed down and welcomed yesterday after what seemed like an endless wait. The peacocks around my neighbourhood have been conversant a lot more, the bird conferences aplenty. The trees always stand laden like they do, but don’t shy away from dancing to her tunes. People stop working to stand and watch – some with smiles, some with cries of joy, some with relief, but never with impatience; not for the season’s first rain.

IMG_3216

The rains in Kerala, Mumbai and now NCR have been an experience to witness and remember. Their aftermath is another matter, altogether. But never have I seen rain being prayed for, being worshipped, being celebrated, being embraced so much as I have in these three places. Being a city girl, never have I seen rain mean so much to so many. I cannot wait to see how the rest of my country welcomes what can only be called a phenomenon, a very Indian one at that. Hardly can I wait to see how India welcomes its monsoons.

10 Responses to “When It Rained More Than Rain”

  1. Diya June 21, 2016 at 11:01 AM #

    This brings back so many memories of dancing in the rain when visiting the motherland for our summer hols :)

    • Babushka June 21, 2016 at 11:09 AM #

      Those really were the days!

  2. Nyxloves June 21, 2016 at 12:45 PM #

    I am actually nostalgic after reading this post. I loved monsoons in Delhi…I guess I need to visit India to relive the magic of rain. Thanks for sharing, I just loved this post!

    • Babushka June 21, 2016 at 1:04 PM #

      Thank you :) And yes, the monsoons are just about beginning in this side of the country. :)

  3. banteringbangalorean June 21, 2016 at 3:16 PM #

    of course i love the rain in Kerala and Mumbai… but the rains in Bangalore are just as special for me… <3 *sigh* That's the thing about unconditional love. :D

    • Babushka June 21, 2016 at 3:47 PM #

      Yes, most definitely! But the feeling of experiencing the rain in these places is very different, methinks… No?

      • banteringbangalorean June 21, 2016 at 3:51 PM #

        Yehaaa. They’re like full-on! Goa also. Now dreaming of our Goa trip and driving in the rain and the merriment and posing for pics in the rain in Wayanad… 😍 ❤

        • Babushka June 21, 2016 at 4:48 PM #

          Oh yes! How could I forget Goa. Oh sigh… It makes me want to have omelette paav and pazhampori. 😳

  4. tomrains June 29, 2016 at 1:40 AM #

    You made me feel nostalgic for a place I never experienced! Though I have been through the rain, obviously, and my surname is Rains so I feel as though I am required to be fascinated by it :)

    • Babushka June 29, 2016 at 1:33 PM #

      Thank you for your kind words, Tom, and welcome to my space here. Glad to have made you feel the way you did. :)

Comments

