From What I Hear…

2 Jun

Bangalore is currently like this.

IMG_2442

It was around this time last year when I clicked this picture en route to a random and very impromptu all-girls drive to Nandi Hills. The road was all ours, the sky inviting, the weather literally huggable. Much music of all sorts ranging from A.R. Rehman to The Beatles to John Lennon to songs from the Tamil movie Kadal were heard along the way. This one in particular.

 

I love it and have loved it ever since it came into existence. There’s such a genteelness to it, such a breeziness and lightness to it.

I love Tamil songs. There’s just something so enigmatic, free, easy, sprightly about them. There’s something extremely personal, hidden, mystifying yet poetic and personalized about them. Each song can speak to its listener in ways that are subjective, making each of us feel like they were made for our very special yet private understanding; encompassing the voices of our heart, the pages of our mind and its memories, the soul of our life, as they percolate into our experience and embrace us. There’s a quality about them that I haven’t felt before from any other kind of music, over and above the fact that I do not understand Tamil. Almost facepalm.

Anyway, along with soothing music that allows for cruising on freshly rained roads, chai was had. Lots. Which makes me remember this so much.

IMG_2767

Egg puffs. They take me back to my college days when they were consumed on a daily basis by default. A good, hot, fresh and crispy egg puff to go with that measly paper cup of chai between rushed ten minute breaks between classes was what, I felt, was a major reason I even went to college on the actual pretext of obnoxious attendance standards that needed maintaining. So good, those puffs. So good.

I had one the other day and what a shame it was…such a non-puff it was. It made me miss these you get so easily back in Bangalore. A puff and a warm slice of fresh dilkhush (fresh grated coconut pies bejewelled with tuti-fruti pieces). Joy. I’m certain about not finding dilkhush here, but the hunt for that puff is on – I’m sure to find it sometime soon. Hopefully the rains would have set in by then.

It’s so confusing when you feel at home in more than one place because that just makes it harder, especially when you do not have the finances to support the indulgence of these feelings. If I could, I would be lost in the following:

IMG_9229

Hot Chips

 

IMG_8883

Donne Biryani (Mutton)

 

IMG_8772

Mince on Toast at Koshy’s

 

photo 3 (1)

Fried Calamari with Draught Beer

Oh yes, I would be.

Oh wait, and this.

IMG_5012

Death by Chocolate

I’d prefer the smaller Fudge version, but yes, how could I not?

6 Responses to “From What I Hear…”

  1. Romy Jimmy June 3, 2016 at 9:00 AM #

    Kiosk ke egg puffs! *sigh*
    :)

    • Babushka June 3, 2016 at 10:04 AM #

      Yaaaaaaaaa! Eggjactly! God so many missings and cravings sometimes that’s it’s not even funny. Sigh indeed.

  2. Diya @ Pen2Needle June 5, 2016 at 1:51 PM #

    Sighh… what I wouldn’t give for an egg puff right now!

  3. The Girl Next Door June 6, 2016 at 3:16 PM #

    Bangalore’s old-world bakery products are something else altogether! Sigh!

    The city is gorgeous now, yes. Where are you these days, BTW?

    For me, like you, home is here, in Bangalore, as well as in Ahmedabad. I long to be back in Gujarat, at least for a short while, but then, my parents don’t even have a house there any more. Going to a hotel or a relative’s or friend’s place just wouldn’t be the same. :(

    • Babushka June 6, 2016 at 4:04 PM #

      I understand your situation. I’m currently based in Gurgaon. :)

  4. The Girl Next Door June 6, 2016 at 3:17 PM #

    Oh, and I think music in languages other than those you understand is always evocative. It speaks your own personal tongue that way, because you don’t understand the lyrics.

Comments

