On Getting Liebster’ed And Passing The Parcel

27 May

S, or the Child of Monsoon, as she likes to call herself, put this Liebster Award parcel in my lap a couple of days back. This award came my way a couple of years ago when I just got on to WP but it never saw the light of day, which isn’t a surprise. But since S passed the parcel on to me, I figured it really needed to see the light of some day. On to being more civil and polite, here’s a small introduction to the blogger who nominated me.

S and I have traipsed in and around each other’s lives since I can’t remember when because our parents are friends. Their story goes back when my family moved to Bangalore right after I was born and when our moms met. I’ve spent many a day or almost every day of that part of my babyhood at S’s grandmom’s house having her rasam rice and curd rice every single day. It was a ritual. Then S’s mom fell in love or rather, was serenaded by her dad which soon led to matrimony with the help and support of my parents. And then my rasam rice and curd rice supply at S’s grandmom’s house stopped completely because her grandmom wasn’t very thrilled or excited about the role my mother played in her daughter’s wedding (aunty comes from a [need-I-say-it orthodox] Tam-Brahm family and uncle is a Malayalee – ’nuff said). S is a product of their love, life, struggle and everything, wrapped into one. Then S met this tall hunk of a guy all the way from Germany, fell in love with him and got married to him in what was a whirlwind wedding (you can read about it here) and moved to Germany last year. She dances, loves her dogs, her parents, the crab and prawns (and probably everything) her mom makes, and she loves her husband. If you are curious about the order of these loves, please do feel free to ask her.

This is where I answer the questions she has asked her nominees and where I, in return, pick a set of nominees to ask a few questions to. It’s a pretty sweet way to get introduced to new blogs what with so many of them around, it’s hard to even wonder where to start or what to read. So here goes. Thank you for nominating me, S.

Here are my answers to her questions:

What does having a platform to blog mean to you?
It means that I have a convenient, user-friendly, colourful (very important) and interactive place to temper my thoughts, feelings and words into therapy for my own self. It’s my go-to place whenever and wherever I find the need to use it. It is my idea of catharsis.

How easy or difficult is it to sit down and get started on a new post?
That depends wholly on whether or not my mind and my heart are in sync with whatever it is that I want to write about.

Is there a time you allot for your day to write?
To be honest, I write when I really feel like writing and that can happen at any time or place. But off-late, due to the extra time I have on hand, I’m trying to instil a sense of discipline when it comes to writing or putting my thoughts together on paper or this blog.

What is your dream travel destination?
Maldives. Does it count that I keep dreaming about it so much and wish to go back there whenever I can? If not, then I would say The Serengeti.

What is your favorite thing to do?
Erm… That list is endless…. But if I were to go by very recent events, my most favourite thing to do off late is to catch up with my mom over the phone. I wait for it and feel incomplete without it.

Explain your picture taking process.
This is an interesting question because I’ve never reflected on this process. For me, it’s all about what I see and what it makes me feel. Most of my pictures will speak an emotion because I take a picture when it makes me feel something.

What is your favorite movie and why?
I cannot pick between You’ve Got Mail and Jungle Book (there are more but these two came to my mind first). You’ve Got Mail because of its innocence and concept of life and friendship. Jungle Book because it’s Jungle Book and it feels brand new and brims with nostalgia every time I watch it.

What is your favorite book and why?
To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee; because Atticus Finch.

Any song lyrics that come to mind?
I was just humming ‘Girls Just Wanna Have Fun’ a while back.

Who was the last person you called?
My madre.

What has been the craziest thing you have done? No context.
So far? Gotten married. If that answer isn’t counted, then floating on the Ganga surrounded by the Sub-Himalayan ranges. Food-wise – eaten pigs’ ears. You take your pick!

That was fun! I wish you could answer some of my questions, S. Maybe you should!

Here are my nominees –

Firebirdsongbook
Bantering Bangalorean
Priyanka Moryani
Pen2Needle
Ajay Ananth
Chai Paani
The Girl Next Door
SumiSpoke

The last nominee is too good a writer to even perhaps put this up on her blog, but I’ll try nonetheless
Sewn Together

And my questions are:

  1. What does writing mean to you?
  2. How do you break a writer’s block down?
  3. What is your idea of a good piece of writing?
  4. What are some of the things you look out for when you travel?
  5. What is/who is your favourite/best travel companion?
  6. When was the last time you were mesmerized, and by what?
  7. Describe happiness in a picture.
  8. If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?
  9. If you could give one thing about yourself to someone, what would it be?
  10. What is your go-to stress-buster?
  11. Where do you go to to find peace?

Once you’ve answered these questions, kindly do the following:

  1. Inform and thank the blogger(s) who nominated you
  2. Answer the questions given to you
  3. Nominate 5-11 bloggers whom you’d like to pass this award on to
  4. Let your nominees know of your nominations
  5. Ask them any 11 questions you’d like

Happy writing, folks!

3 Responses to “On Getting Liebster’ed And Passing The Parcel”

  1. The Girl Next Door June 6, 2016 at 2:49 PM #

    Pigs’ ears? My, my! :)

    BTW, my responses to your questions are ready and up on the blog! Do come over!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 137: Paying It Forward | Sewn Together - October 6, 2016

    […] long time ago, girlfriend Babushka (urf Babaloobie, aka Babs) very kindly tagged me on this really nice get-to-know, that I obviously put off because one of the things I *excel* at, is procrastination. And today, […]

Comments

