The Small Things We Do

12 May

The idea, and fact, that some of the biggest joys in life come from the simplest of things has, almost out of habit, been reinforced time and again. It’s the small things, the calm in the hurriedness of a single day, the gentleness of a moment caught in the rush of time, or even a simple act, that I try to find and float in and make a part of my day regularly, if not every day. I’m a creature of habit and it works so well to discover the smallest of instances which add that extra colour, that touch of satisfaction, that comfort of peace which blend so magically into each day.

I love my quiet time very much; being home by myself and in my own company is something I’ve thrived on and find very comforting since forever. It’s seldom that I have any agenda during this time which is also why it’s counter-productive to even have a to-do list because my me time is mostly about just being with me without having to entertain any sort of fixed plan. From my experiences, I’ve learnt that having a routine to follow puts that added pressure of compulsorily having to do something in that time; which sort of defeats the purpose of the entire concept anyway. Perhaps it’s that one time when the lack of structure is most welcome; where the freedom to free flow and go with the what I really want to do in that moment, takes over.

I’m slowly beginning to discover the art of loving the small things I love doing and the things I do by default and without much fuss. I guess it’s the idea of finding some sort of zen in this time of doing things, that I’m seeking…it’s the idea of letting the moment linger so you can savour it for what it is, perhaps? I love my morning cup of tea along with the rustle of a crisp newspaper, the hum of silence and the company of two Parle-G biscuits. This isn’t an everyday occurrence, and when a chance presents itself, like today did, I’m more than happy to embrace it.

Making my bed is something that happens by default and without much thought, but I guess there’s peace and love to be found in that act too – I’ve begun caring about how to make my bed and how I’d like it to look rather than just haphazardly sliding a cover over it. The same goes for bath time even though I still haven’t designated its status from being a habit to a ritual. Lighting agarbattis (incense sticks) immediately after my bath is another ritual I’ve only recently come to perform and love; one that happens automatically now. Apart from the fact that the main idea behind it was to have my home smell fresh, welcoming and inviting, it also gives me an inexplicable sense of peace and satisfaction. Saving episodes of the one show my husband and I can watch together is another special one – sometimes we go all out to prepare the event of watching Game of Thrones together right from getting our meals fixed to ensuring the tv’s set up to completing all our chores and getting them out of the way – it is a routine we’re very new to but keep to do together. Another one that’s been a favourite of mine since I was a child was watering plants – I love watering plants and there’s a joy in this ritual that not much else has – it’s a fantastic feeling.

What are some of the things you do on a regular basis that gives you a sense of peace, satisfaction and of complete being?

I guess there’s so much more to discover or start incorporating into my day. It accounts for more observation and conscious action because it’s evident that a lot of what gets done on a daily basis is so habitual and mundane, most often, that it seldom stands out. The wish for exercise and body-time to create a fine niche under the umbrella of ritual is a hope I harbour strongly, but which still falls under the strains of compulsion and necessity (even if I hardly exercise or give into body-time).

It’s encouraging to say that there are so many opportunities to see who we are and learn about ourselves in every single thing that we do and do not do. Of course it calls for a lot of self-awareness, but it’s something I’m looking forward to understanding and learning more about.

The idea of finding zen and feeling good in the smallest of things we do is an idea I love and one that I am seriously thinking about working on.

For now, that solitary cup of tea has been had and the newspaper, read. The news hasn’t really been that great or interesting, but that’s another story. Susie and John Potato are sitting outside my still padlocked gate and I’ve got a sumptuous meal of dal and sabzi on my mind. I guess it’ll be zen till the mercury hits abnormal levels, but I’ve pushed that eventuality out of my cool mind for now.

Have a great day, dear reader!

3 Responses to “The Small Things We Do”

  1. my one life. today May 25, 2016 at 2:02 AM #

    Love this post, just reading it slow me down, made me remember how joyful having a glass of wine and readings blogs can be. Wasn’t aware of it as much as I could have been until reading your post. Thanks :)

    • Babushka May 25, 2016 at 9:38 AM #

      Your words made my day. Thank you for stopping by and telling me about your experience. :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Small Things We Do – II | Babska's Journey - July 6, 2016

    […] have actually comprehended, some of them reflecting on the things I write about from time to time. This was from the last […]

Comments

