Grey’s Anatomy

27 Mar

I’m not even sure when this show first made its appearance to the world…it’s that old and it’s gone on that long. But of course it hasn’t beaten the likes of Bold and the Beautiful yet and never will, in many, many ways (and I hope it never will go down that obnoxious path). When it was first released, I was back in college (I remember that much) and was quite unmoved by it…disinterested, rather. Besides, it featured medicine, doctors and hospitals on more than just a regular basis (heck, the show revolved around these components) and it wasn’t something very appealing to me…how could one watch such a show for entertainment’s sake, I thought. Of course, this wouldn’t ever be mild and likeable lovable like Doogie Howser was and I’d never really dove into the likes of ER (sorry, Mr. Clooney!) so all my thoughts naturally led me to believe that this show wasn’t meant for me. And I never watched it…

…until many years later when I was on the line to submit my Master’s thesis to my professor and figured it was more important to have all-nighters focused on a television show I never really was interested in, over and above what needed my attention, time and effort more than anything else. If you’ve been a reader ever since I started blogging or if you know me or you may have guessed by now, I am indeed the self-confessed procrastinator. Call it being arrogant or presumptuous or lazy or uncaring or just being someone who works best when under pressure (clearly less than a week’s time to draft, write, seek approvals and print an entire thesis is a lot of time to really feel the pressure), but it was just then when my interests and fascination for the show rooted themselves rather firmly into my being. And there’s been no looking back ever since.

The show has, of course, come a very long way since when it first started out, what with all the twists, turns, ups and downs, entries and exits, mergers and murders accidental deaths it has seen throughout. Every fan of this show has cried gallons of tears, felt emotional on cue and braved every dramatic storm after storm, year after year. It is stressful to watch this show (though Homeland takes that cake, for me!). There came a point when I had even decided to stop watching it…when Christina left…when Derek died…that had to be it…it was getting too much…and with only Meredith and Alex left, what was it worth anyway, right?

But I’m still watching it. In fact, I just did catch up on all the episodes I’d missed thanks to a cranky laptop that only wanted to crash and burn. There is something about this show, as promiscuous and unending as its characters and story is…everybody is (almost) seeing somebody from the same hospital…a rather convenient la-dee-da benefit, if I may say so, for these hard working doctors who have no social life except with each other.

There’s a magnetism about the show which surpasses the stress, the deaths, the drama, the promiscuity and Meredith’s timely martyrdom. The one thing that has made me stick to this show has been its screenplay, its writing, its themes and most of all, its direction (in a non-cinematic way). Oh, and the dancing! I’m one of those suckers who almost always has something to learn and take away from its episodes from time to time. I love how Shonda Rhimes speaks through her show. I marvel at whoever writes these episodes. I am amazed at just how much depth there is in this show and how it isn’t just another television show to me. Be it the music she chooses to employ when words fail her characters or be it the words that steal the show; I’m always left wanting more. And let’s not get into the show’s ability to make me cry. You cry watching it too, right?

I think I watch it and come back for more because the bottom line is that it feels more real than fake, more raw than made up, more human than televised… so much so, that is has the power to haunt your mind and thoughts. Of course, this is only if a show like this appeals to you, naturally. Besides, I think it may have even made me more open to doctors…to the fact that they are human beings and not aliens in white coats out there to hurt me, poke me, cut right into me. Never mind. I think I’m a goner, anyway. But you know what I’m talking about, yes? You feel it too, right? Great, that makes me feel a little better about myself. Thank you.

To share, here’s something that’s caught my fancy…a few of the many, many tracks featured on this show that have blown my socks off.

 

 

Learning: TV shows talk beyond the screen too. Always have. Always will.

Learning 2: Dance. Even when it seems impossible or ridiculous.

2 Responses to “Grey’s Anatomy”

  1. Priyanka March 27, 2016 at 8:52 PM #

    I know exactly what you’re talking about!! :) :D

    • Babushka March 28, 2016 at 11:00 AM #

      Haha, glad to know I’m not alone in this matter. :P

Comments

