Hot Winters

12 Jan

IMG_9203

I woke up to this one fine morning last week and I was absolutely delighted. The idea of being surrounded by so much visibility-breaking fog was just exciting because I have to admit that this, to me, is the idea of what a north Indian winter looks and feels like. This was at about 8am and while the effect of a blanketed sun can be so saddening, to wake up to this took me back to the winters I’ve grown up in. Of course back then they were less romantic and more arduous what with having to get dressed for school and such at an unearthly time during those frigid morning hours. They say that this has been the country’s hottest winter in a long time and while I’m new to it all over again and while I do still feel quite cold, it is a fact. These foggy mornings are tales of mid-December onward; however, we’ve seen just one such instance so far and that too in January. While I’m a tad sad about this lost foggy winter, I’m ever so thankful that it hasn’t been as harsh to this newcomer. I hear it rains during January and that the sun seldom shows up. But let’s not think about these unwelcome things right now and focus on happier ones.

Of course the moment I stepped out and saw all this fog, I also ran around the place to try and get pictures of just how beautiful it looked. It’s another thing that I looked completely bonkers in the eyes of my husband and whoever else was sneaking a peek at their weird neighbour going gaga over this cumbersome weather condition. While I wished to have taken a walk and captured this fog at its best, I decided against it because I do love my lungs. This smog in the guise of pretty winter fog isn’t something one wants to voluntarily inhale into their system. Besides, what better an excuse than this to get right back into the arms of a warm quilt and bed, do tell?

Embracing the romantic side of me which surfaces very prominently on the kitchen front, I’ve been taking this winter season business very seriously. Also because it’s not very comforting to have cool, crunchy salads in this weather as say, soothing stews and soups are. I love a good, hearty, healthy meal that makes you feel ensconced in warmth and what I call a mother’s touch…there really is nothing more comforting. And so I’ve been using the weather and these most beautiful winter vegetables as an excuse to go berserk in the kitchen. It’s just so exciting, it’s hard to express otherwise. Here’s one of my absolute favourites that I posted about earlier and one that I can have 987342 times in a day – chicken/veg English stew.

IMG_9008

It has a marketful of vegetables in it, as is visible, along with chicken I’ve added (because I love my husband) and that’s a sight for sore eyes, in my very honest opinion. Dunk chunks of garlic bread in this or have it by itself by the bowlfuls and you’re set.

And then because my husband decided to catch the sniffles and because they say chicken soup is really the best for the soul and all that jazz, here was my next experiment.

IMG_9184

Of course he looked at this and asked if it was for him or me because all he could see were mushrooms – to which I kept a straight face but LOLed so much in my head about. Ah, such fun!

IMG_9185

These colours just make for a very healthy, happy and slurpy meal. And also act as proof of this being more than just a fungi soup. And also makes winter feel a little more energised. Again, it’s a meal that spells ‘add all you want in it’. Speaking of which, I also tried my hand at this:

IMG_9192

It’s a horribly messy and tedious affair especially since it was my first time. I’m not a parantha person at all and now that I live parantha land, it only makes sense to become a little more adaptable to my surroundings. But the comfort of a hot parantha with some butter on top just steals the show for it truly is the capital C in comfort that we all look out for from time to time.

It feels like not just the hottest winter generally but the hottest one in my kitchen so far as well.

Of course it’s another thing that this is my first ever any season in the kitchen. Oh well. :)

8 Responses to “Hot Winters”

  1. Babette January 12, 2016 at 1:47 PM #

    I can imagine that the parantha combined with the stew will be absolute magic as well… lovely photos and stew!

    • Babushka January 12, 2016 at 4:46 PM #

      I think you’re absolutely right about the parantha and stew combination. Thank you for your appreciation and your visit. :)

  2. Deepti Srivastav January 12, 2016 at 5:12 PM #

    Ahh..i so love Mushrooms..n this only made my taste buds dance away..:D So veg stew it is tonight. And btw i love how you connect with our sub conscious thoughts with your write ups!. Good job

    • Babushka January 12, 2016 at 11:25 PM #

      Aww that’s so lovely to hear, Deepti. :)

      And all the very best with the stew. It’s ever so simple and healthy. I hope there’ll be pictures. :)

  3. banteringbangalorean January 12, 2016 at 9:20 PM #

    I want all those mushrooms. And the paratha. 😍

    • Babushka January 12, 2016 at 11:26 PM #

      Just let’s set a lunch date or two! :)

  4. Meghana Badrinath January 13, 2016 at 11:01 AM #

    babushka please share your hot chocolate recipe with the world :D looks too good to be true (insta post)

    • Babushka January 13, 2016 at 5:34 PM #

      Haha, sure thing! And welcome here. :)

Comments

