Things I’m Doing Before I Leave Bangalore – III

2 Sep

Maybe this post needs categories because of course one of the things I’m doing is visiting my favourite haunts which certainly cannot be listed under one small post. I told you not to be surprised if most of these posts are food related.

I love this place ever so much, and let’s be clear, I love the original place where we’ve all originally found it and eaten at. For a while there was speculation about the authenticity and original originality of this place, but I went to both these places by the same name and I’ve arrived at my decision – The Only Place, Museum Road, it always always will be. To me that’s the original I first went to and therefore link every association of it with this branch. Museum Road, opposite St. Josephs and just up the road from the (in)famous Church Street Empire.

While I couldn’t possibly eat everything I have eaten here, in one sitting, we could exchange notes of just all the awesomeness that oozes out of this tile-roofed, verandah-in-the-middle, perpetually booked restaurant.

People had already raved about this place eons before I could even afford a meal on my own money. And this was one of those places I’d mentally made a note of to visit as soon as I had enough disposable income to, well, blow up on fancy plates of food. No, I didn’t come from a background that necessitated eating out at very fancy places and Casa Picola on Cunningham road for Sunday lunches was as fancy as it got. Do you remember that place? Oh how we used to love that outlet and its food; especially its heartwarming chicken pot pie served with a side of crunchy buttered garlic bread. That was our Sunday family tradition and one I’m forever grateful to mom for starting. I’m glad we come from a time when one meal outside of home was extraordinary and special enough minus the labels having “just one meal outside” could bring along. Anyhoo.

So, just after I started my first job after finishing my Bachelor’s course is when I made my debut entry to this place. Still a bit steep for my meager budget preferences, I first began my journey at this restaurant with their then 200 rupee Salisbury Steak (the cheapest one on the menu); one that is made with ground meat, topped with gravy and baby onions and served with a side of mashed potatoes and butter garlic bread. It was my first ever steak from a famous, “fancy” place and it was an experience I will always remember – a peppery, delightful and absolutely filling meal. Give it a try if you don’t mind minced meat. Unfortunately other dishes have caught my fancy and given that it’s been a while since I had the Salisbury steak, there is no picture.

I also do not have a picture of their cheesey fries; another staple we use to and still do order by default. Cheesey fries and lemon iced teas are a combination that’s hard to say no to, especially on a hot summer’s day or a cool winter’s night or at any other given time, date or weather forecast in Bangalore. It’s another order I’ll never say no to despite the fact that it has changed over the years and isn’t the same dish of cheesey fries we first had. That was a bowl full of magic with melted cheese on top, on the side, at the bottom, in the middle, in the air…you name it! But this puts a lot of other cheesey fries we’ve had, to shame. I mean really, how hard are cheesey fries to put on the table? Or am I missing something?

Feeling American-ish (whazzthatevensupposedtomean?) is what makes me crave this place, and this is what I order to satisfy my craving.

IMG_0364

A Juicy Lucy without cheese and a fried egg, if I want a burger minus all the heaviness. This one has egg because I was either too lost dreaming about my food or eating some food that I forgot to tell the waiter about it. You could skip the cheese on top because this burger patty *waitforit* has melted cheese right inside it. It’s quite amazing to bite into a Juicy Lucy – it’s an experience I cannot explain. Just imagine juicy, well seasoned meat and melted cheese – it should do. Tuck into it, seal the deal with fries, wash it down with your favourite beverage (mine here is lemon iced tea) and you should be set; burger-wise and feeling American-ish-wise. Totally recommended and recommended some more.

Then there are days when I’m feeling rather indulgent (mind you, I still do find this place expensive sometimes); and that’s when I order this baby.

1187098_10153206739045055_1321936645_n

The OP’s Special Fish. Today it’s a whopping 450 bucks. I do feel extravagant when I order this and save it for only those times when I’m craving a beautifully cooked fish fillet browned in butter, lemon and spices. Oh my gawwd, Jesus Christ. Grilled fish in lemon butter with vegetables is just my most favourite meal in the whole wide world. I’m not exaggerating when I say this is the good stuff. If you don’t believe me, then hopefully the picture will be convincing enough. This is served with mashed potatoes and wilted greens on the side; go right for it. Since my fish cravings primarily lead me to Keralite restaurants, this one isn’t something I order a lot. Like I said, I prefer fish fries and the like and imagine how many fish I could eat for the price of this one fillet. Sorry but fish makes me greedy. Just only always hope that the fish you get at any restaurant is clean, fresh and you’re good to fly away on your magic carpet ride.

And for the final, as almost all of you who’ve been to The Only Place would’ve guessed, here’s what I always pick for dessert.

IMG_0366

Their apple pie with cream +/- ice cream. It’s not too apple-y, not too cinnamon-y, not too spicy, not too sweet, not too mushy, not too crusty, not perfect at all – but it’s the good stuff you want on your table and maybe a helping some more.

It’s intriguing how ideals and perfection are so boring. I mean imagine a perfect looking apple pie and then place this broken, not so perfect one by its side. Really, please don’t be perfect. Breaks and tears and mushiness here and there is just the way to be.

You know it’s really good when you get a philosophical lesson out of it.

I’ll be coming back for more!

2 Responses to “Things I’m Doing Before I Leave Bangalore – III”

  1. Chantel Mickaela September 2, 2015 at 3:29 PM #

    Looks yummy!!

    • Babushka September 4, 2015 at 5:04 PM #

      Hi Chantel, thank you for stopping by. It certainly is yummy! :)

Comments

