Rant-atouille

28 Aug

A family friend’s daughter got married yesterday. I’ve only ever heard a multitude stories of how aunty used to pick me up from my home, take me to her place (she was unmarried then) and feed me rasam rice – the proper Tam-Brahm (Tamilian Brahmin) types. Of course I was a baby then and have no memories of this. But then again, there are ties beyond the strength of memories that bind you in a familiarity that’s hard to explain. Perhaps that’s why we say things like “it feels like I’ve known you forever.”, no?

So her daughter and her daughter’s boyfriend decided to get hitched OMGsosuddenly, that it took us all by surprise. Of course once the initial excitement of deciding to get married dies down, frenzies of all caliber decide to dawn themselves on you; one at a time, or all at once. And so everyone got really busy trying to get an entire wedding done in such short notice. It was a sweet, personal, small affair – something that is a rarity when it comes to weddings in general, forget Indian weddings, specifically.

IMG_4834

That’s them. Don’t they make the most gorgeous pair, these two?

Now that her wedding day has passed and she is a happily married girl (because I will always see her as one), what was once a distraction from my own wedding, albeit a slight one, is now suddenly gone. I think I was seeking comfort in the fact that I didn’t have to do anything for a while and that there was time to get things done at an easy, relaxed pace. Turns out that taking things in an easy and relaxed pace is not entirely suitable for cronies like yours truly who work best under pressure. And with S’s wedding as an easy go-to distraction shield gone, I now face my wedding preps straight in the eye; because I have nothing else to find distractions in.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m most excited about doing things and getting things done no matter how mentally, emotionally, economically and physically stressful planning and executing weddings can be. It’s just that I now have my wedding date in sight more clearly and it is fast reaching the crescendo of excitement, nervousness and a definite sense of overwhelming emotions I haven’t faced yet. You know I’m the escapist, so it’s highly unlikely that I will deal with this onslaught of emotions and thoughts at this very moment, like a normal human being would.

Time is flying. In less than 3 months I will be a married child. And I will have become a married child-adult because apparently getting married automatically upgrades you to being one – an adult i.e. In between all that, there is a lot to do and many people, things, non-things and drama to deal with; most of which is self-caused. An over-thinker preparing for a wedding is just no joke. I’m sure you married over-thinkers out there know exactly what I’m talking about. However, regular sane conversations with the fiance make things seem more real, calm, doable and definitely not as impossible as the mountain-out-of-a-molehill in your head feels like. It’s a good balance.

Hopefully there will be posts, and hopefully they will not be as staccato as they may eventually turn out to be. See, I’m learning the art of making promises in no promises. Did that make sense? Because it absolutely did not to me.

As for the rest of my life outside of this blog, I’m gearing up to be a bride who’s binge eating on french fries, magnum cappuccino bars (omg have you tried them?!) and grilled chicken with crispy skin. And black coffee.

Did someone say stress-eating?

4 Responses to “Rant-atouille”

  1. sandhyakml January 4, 2016 at 10:55 PM #

    Just saw this. Haha! *hugs*

    • Babushka January 5, 2016 at 1:08 PM #

      Thank you, I really need some. Hugs back to you too, you! :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Things I’m Doing Before I Leave Bangalore – I | Babska's Journey - August 29, 2015

    […] continuation from the end of my previous post where I highlighted (more than once) my fast approaching wedding, please excuse me if most, if not […]

  2. On Getting Liebster’ed And Passing The Parcel | Babska's Journey - May 27, 2016

    […] fell in love with him, got married to him in what was a whirlwind wedding (you can read about it here) and moved to Germany last year. She dances, loves her dogs, her parents, the crab and prawns (and […]

Comments

