Saturday Gastronomy!

15 Apr

You saw what happened on Saturday. There was a storm in my kitchen. There were 2 friends who hadn’t met in such a long time (2 weeks!). The girls were hungry. The girls were chilling out. The girls were happy. The girls wanted to do something different. There was so much here, here and to sum it up, here. But who said that was all? Guess what happened next? Guess what featured on Saturday’s dinner menu? Wait, lemme give you some clues and we’ll take it from there.

IMG_8184IMG_8177IMG_8220

OK, skinned tomatoes, baked chicken and wonderfully risen dough could mean many, many beautiful things. Let’s take this a step at a time…

IMG_8188

I do not usually break my cooking routine to click pictures of ingredients but this just had to be captured because they look so pretty, so red, so beautiful. Perfectly skinned tomatoes never looked so inviting. They just had to be clicked and then they just had to be blitzed and cooked. And while they were cooking, here’s what came next.

IMG_8177IMG_8179IMG_8175

My ideal pick for a lazy Saturday of cooking would’ve been sausages. But who’d have ever thunk the absence of sausages would make way for this beauty? I needed chicken and skinless chicken pieces were all I had in my freezer. So out they came and became into some bootyliscious baked garlic lemon chicken. Very easy, very simple, very unpretentious and very delectable. Also, it had to be something that went well with tomatoes, and this seemed perfect. At first I wondered if something lemony and tomatoey would gel well but when I accidentally added the lemon marinade, I decided to go with the flow. And going with the flow works. The one thing I’ve learned in the kitchen is to NEVER panic. It ruins everything instantly. So beautiful, summery lemon garlic chicken it was. Yum!

IMG_8220

And just look at that holy-mama-bootyliscious dough! I’m not always lucky with yeast and I think I’ve figured out why. However, this was a clean win and it was just the best thing ever. Trust me when I say you want your house to smell of fresh homemade bread baking to perfection in the oven! It’s the best, most homely aroma of all time. And you just have to try it to see. Those of you who’ve experimented with bread at home know what I’m talking about.

If you haven’t guessed what I was up to, well, tada, here it is!

IMG_8225

Yummers! Homemade pizza from scratch!

IMG_8223

This was my trial run pizza with the basic toppings of corn and cheese.

IMG_8230

And it turned out to be bloody marvelous! It was cooked to perfection. It was sensuous. It was light. It was healthy. It was as frikkin Italian as it could get. It wasn’t oozing fat and oil and butter. It wasn’t uncomfortably filling. It was just perfect. It garnered many an ooooh and aaaah!

IMG_8233

Now that I’d got it bang on the first time, I went crazy with the toppings. In went my baked lemon garlic chicken with the veges and out came something I can only call foodgasmic. Really.

IMG_8235IMG_8238IMG_8236

I love that the pizza was simple. I love that I didn’t have to go to fancy stores to pick my ingredients out. I love that I had the liberty to add whatever and how much ever I wanted as toppings. I love that I didn’t feel bloated. I love that I felt so healthily full. And that’s a big thing because pizzas and health don’t go together. I love that my house smelled like an Italian cafe. I love how the bread turned out so gorgeous. I love how everything was just perfect.

I made 4 pizzas. And they were outrageously amazing. There’s been a weird kinda pizza mania I’ve been going through since last week. And because ordering pizzas in isn’t something I enjoy very much, I just had to try this out. Said friend’s brother came all the way at close to 1030pm to have one fresh off the oven. And then he got us this :)

IMG_8239

Ice cream from Natural! Mango, grape and strawberry. Yummers yum yum! Perfect!

IMG_8254

And then the friend and I finished our day of cooking and cleaning and general madness with an R&C over a movie. Wait, let me rephrase that to gastronomic madness! :)

2 Responses to “Saturday Gastronomy!”

  1. Ubiquitous April 15, 2013 at 12:14 PM #

    omg, i want that pizza! could almost smell the aroma from the screen :O :D

    • Babushka April 15, 2013 at 1:00 PM #

      I hope to make it again! Will let you know :)

Comments

