Thanking you

6 Apr

I’ve been blogging ever since I heard about a blog back during a lazy media class in 2005 when I was doing my Bachelor’s course. To be honest, I started blogging because it felt cool and I felt pretty darn accomplished to have something as awesome as a web log (blog). It was new and it was novel and it felt amazing. Over time my blogs changed names, looks, themes, addresses, online spaces and of course, like all logs/journals/diaries, the contents of my blog also saw vast transformations. It’s funny how time flies and how we change accordingly. Or not. But you get my drift.

Those of us who write or wrote diaries/journals know what I mean when I say we change. We begin by talking about everyday life, about school, college, friends, boyfriends/girlfriends, crushes, homework and perhaps even the way our teeth looked. We even experimented with a code language we came up with by our own way of imagination. It looked cool, it took some time to get used to and it soon became a part of our life. We could read that secret language just like we could the language of our comfort and choice. Secrecy was a huge thing. I remember experimenting with diaries I could lock not because I was plotting against the world but because teens and secrecy just go together. Everything’s very hush hush especially around adults and siblings. There was a sense of adventure in it all.

When secrecy wasn’t a big deal anymore, the patterns and contents of writing changed too. Everyday hassles got replaced by questions, conflicts, issues and concerns that germinated at a pace we couldn’t comprehend. Secrecy gave way to trust, as did the insecurity of being spied upon. And before I knew it, I’d stopped writing because it was that time of life when one had more pressing issues to deal with (read: board exams).

Sometimes it’s strange the way life unfolds. When I look back, I cannot fathom how and where and when all those years went by. At the risk of sounding so, so old, I’d just like to say that I have absolutely no idea where and how the years between when I got into tenth grade and now have gone. It’s not like it was a bad phase. It was just a phase that had so much going on, I guess? There was too much to do. Writing took a backseat sometime then. In fact everything else that didn’t involve books actually did get put on the back burner. Out went the pottery, painting, drawing, writing and of course a lot of the reading as well. Till I finished twelfth grade and went on to do my Bachelor’s course in Psychology, English Literature and Mass Communication. Maybe that just had to happen because now I had to read and write. And it was great. Most often at least.

That’s when I got back to the concept of actually taking time off, reflecting and writing. The entire procedure started all over again. My old posts are reminiscent of my student life filled with amazing experiences, projects, new people I met, boyfriends, friendships, career paths I may have wanted to choose and so on. I like going back to them once in a while. They’re my albums of a time I loved dearly.

So yes, I was talking about blogging. It’s been an extremely interesting journey. I’ve met so many awesome people some of whom have come to become close friends. I’ve always loved meeting new people and interacting with them and to be able to do so via this medium and through writing is just so mind blowing. Why isn’t mindblowing one word? Anyhoo.

Times have been shit crazy the past year and I’ve often found myself in a vacuum where I can see words floating around but have no voice to speak them. There’s almost always been a traffic jam in my head, as I like to call it, when I find it hard to write. I love writing because writing is my most easy and comfortable form of not just expression but living. When you find something that comes as effortlessly most often, you’ve got to know there’s something in it for you. That’s a relationship you don’t want to part ways with. So no matter how crazy it has been, you’ve always been there with me. And for that I am ever so thankful.

I just came across this and thought I’d share it with you because you’re awesome and I really love having you here. This is where my teeny tiny blog’s been on the world map.

WordPress.com - Google Chrome 462013 64905 PM WordPress.com - Google Chrome 462013 64939 PM WordPress.com - Google Chrome 462013 64949 PM

To say that I feel overwhelmed would be undermining it way below what it really, really makes me feel. I thank you for walking on this journey with me. I thank you for being a part of my world. I thank you for allowing me to be a part of your world too. I thank you for being patient and supportive. I thank you for being you. I thank you for becoming a part of my puzzle. Thank you for believing in me. Thank you for participating in this experience.

You inspire me. You motivate me. You make me come back when I think I cannot. You make me feel totally awesome. Thank you ever so much.

Here’s to a crazy awesome journey. Keep those walking shoes on! :)

Much love,

Babska! :)

2 Responses to “Thanking you”

  1. timidvoice April 6, 2013 at 7:39 PM #

    Wow, that stuff you said about how what we write in diaries/journals changes is so true. It was like you were writing about me and I feel the same way about all my journals- they are albums of my life, a snapshot of times in my life and where I have been.
    What a great post- I enjoyed reading it.

    • Babushka April 6, 2013 at 7:41 PM #

      Hey,

      Thank you for dropping by! And yeah, diaries were just something else altogether. :)

      Thank you once again! :)

Comments

