Foodie Weekend

6 Jan

It’s been a while since I got myself to the kitchen, inspired enough to prep what one would otherwise deem a lazy Saturday lunch. Saturdays are either spent out meeting friends or dozing away with a book with the lazy sunlight streaming in through my bedroom window directly on to my feet. It’s a warm feeling if you think about it and there’s nothing I enjoy more than to read and fall asleep, especially on a Saturday afternoon.

The past few weeks and weekends have been c-r-a-z-y to say the least. I can’t remember the last time I got out of bed in the morning all inspired and revved up to go to the kitchen and whip something up. Yesterday was no different. I woke up at 11 because I realized I was hungry. And there’d been chicken filets lying in my freezer which needed to be consumed without further delay, or that’s what my mind had decided on Friday night. So it was going to be a simple chicken affair with some veges and mash to give my meal the body it required. I hadn’t figured anything else out because very frankly, I wasn’t stocked with any fancy ingredients till I opened the fridge to find a bottle of Sula white. *YAY*!!! The laziness slowly melted into excitement and hope. There really was no looking back after that. Here’s what happened next – a pan full of chicken bubbling away in a yummy sauce.

IMG_6726

Chicken in White Wine Sauce with Lemon Pepper Mash & Wilted Butter Garlic Greens

IMG_6728

It’s been a foodie weekend with lots of wining and dining. It all started with that surprise bottle of wine in the fridge. White wine makes Babska a happy girl. And then the brother went ahead and picked this up.

IMG_6741

We’re not wine connoisseurs at all. And so we just pick stuff up as and when we feel like. And I must say I found it to be very, very strong. I had a sip, scrunched my face, took a sip more, scrunched my face some more, stared at it and then gave up. I found this one to be quite woody and strong, not something I’d expect from a red. I prefer lighter, milder and fruitier wines to be honest. And this didn’t hit the spot for me. My brother and mum seemed to develop a taste for it and I let them have my share too. And very gladly at that.

And because you’re sometimes struck by inspiration to such a level that whipping one meal up just isn’t enough, here’s what happened next.

I’ve been in the mood to experiment with some South Indian fare. Being essentially North Indian, as it were, but having spent most of my life down south still doesn’t change the fact that our staple diet is a simple daal, roti and sabzi. And even though we do indulge in South Indian delights, we never really make anything ourselves. It really isn’t about dishes being easy or hard. It’s just about taste and that magic; that something more innate which comes from God knows where. I’d hopped over to the Mangalorean side of things by experimenting with a Chicken Bafat Curry a while back and it was mind-blowing. We licked the bowl clean really. Our food doesn’t really involve coconut but that doesn’t mean we don’t love it. So the curry I’d foolishly forgotten to click was quite a surprise success. And I thought to myself ki if I could hit the Mangy spot, I could be a tad bit more daring and tread towards the Mallu (Kerala) side a bit. Therefore today was all about comfort food. Here are stews I made – one chicken for the brother and me and one vegetable for the mother.

IMG_6747IMG_6753

Dosas with Chicken Stew.

IMG_6752

The ideal combination is stew with appams but we haven’t ventured into that territory yet. This grub was everything I have always associated it to be – fabulous, comforting and oh so amazing. It’s what Sundays are so synonymous with. I guess I could take a few more baby steps into the South Indian side of things, one by one of course. It makes me feel very accomplished, somehow. It’s all good. It just shows the power that food really has. And if that wasn’t enough, it was time for some more family pampering .

Now this is a wine whose flavour is fantabulous. So beautiful. So awesome. And one that we can’t find anywhere now. It was the last harvest of 2012 indeed. If you find it, and if you are a wine person, give this baby a try.

IMG_6750

Because all good things need to end with something sweet, here’s what I put on the table.

Vanilla Ice Cream with a Liqueur Toffee Sauce

IMG_6755IMG_6757

I shy away from cooking or eating anything caramelly except caramel popcorn occasionally because I fear I’ll burn it or ruin it or just go crazy with a sugar high. But like I said, I guess it was a time of great experimentation and this was truly gorgeeeous! Anything dark, caramelly and molten over ice cream is. :)

*sigh* I figure it doesn’t take a lot once you’re inspired, hungry and are in the mood. :)

Hope you had a pampered weekend too.

6 Responses to “Foodie Weekend”

  1. bepcity January 6, 2013 at 11:21 PM #

    Your pictures are beautiful. That chicken dish sounds super good!

    • Babushka January 7, 2013 at 6:36 AM #

      Hey,

      Thank you :) And thanks for stopping by :)

  2. Ubiquitous January 6, 2013 at 11:22 PM #

    wow! awesome stuff yaar-uh!

    i’m a wine person too. but red wine for me. i like the strong one, even, ;)

    as almost always, your taste (in this case, wine) is similar to my Mommy’s and my taste like Aunty’s :)

    • Babushka January 7, 2013 at 6:35 AM #

      Oooooh, then let’s have a wine and dine meeting very soon :)

  3. The Girl Next Door January 7, 2013 at 12:00 PM #

    You are so talented a cook! All of that sounds lovely (I am a through-and-through vegetarian, so can’t share in the delight of a non-vegetarian dish, but they sure look lovely). I can’t even imagine cooking anything like this stuff at home!

    • Babushka January 7, 2013 at 12:07 PM #

      :) Thank you. We’re vegetarians for most part of the week too. These are weekend indulgences, so to speak. :)

Comments

