Fundamentally Missing

8 Nov

I urge you to read this article I came across at work before you proceed with my post.

Welcome back.

There is something so awry with us all, with this world; very fundamentally so. When did the world get so empty that we need professional cuddlers/snugglers? I by no means stand in judgment of Jacqueline, and even if I were to, I would reckon she’s pretty smart and bold in delivering something we all technically should have by default. And she’s earning fairly well from it in order to support her child and her self. So there.

It isn’t astounding when you’re confronted by statistics regarding the status of relationships today. I saw my share of them when I was a counselor and when I was a student of counseling. Relationships have definitely entered a different zone of existence and functionality altogether where SMSes, emails, voicemails, pings and missed calls precede more direct and holistic forms of communication. Research the stats if you must and you’ll really have your socks knocked off. So while we’ve opted for “technologically advanced” methods of keeping in touch, making the world a million times smaller and what have you, we’ve sort of fast-tracked into a lane of loneliness and alone-ness. Kinda superbly ironic, don’t you think?

And now we’ve lost the ability to touch. Or the want to touch. And yet no one says anything as we drown further into the world of everything that takes us away from what is so fundamentally a part of our life, or was something so fundamental that’s begun to go missing.

2 Responses to “Fundamentally Missing”

  1. The Girl Next Door November 8, 2012 at 5:17 PM #

    This is so sad. Snuggling is a very important part of my life, and I can’t imagine life without it! It is so sad that people have to get outside their homes to find the warmth of snuggling, just like some people are forced to get out of their home to find love or sex. At times like these, the world does indeed seem like a cold, hard place. I personally know of a few people who hate to be at home so much that they are trying to find warmth in the outside world. :(

    • Babushka November 8, 2012 at 5:49 PM #

      Yeah, but then I’d like to believe there’s still some hope out there somewhere… :)

Comments

