For Ever and Always

7 Nov

For those of you who know even a little about me would definitely be privy to the fact that I am, in fact, a trance chica. And even though I enjoy this genre of music a lot, I am very picky about what I listen and groove to. Turns out that every Tom, Dick and Harry who gets themselves access to electronic beats, an account on soundcloud.com or a turntable figure they’ve become the next upcoming DJ; just like how every DSLR owner thinks they’re the next big shutterbug. Well, great going but getting back to my point, I’m picky about the trance and genres of trance I listen to. Simple.

But I wasn’t born a trance lover or listener. It just happened. Music happens to you. The music you listen to becomes a massive part of your identity. And I refuse to believe that any of us has a blank slate. What we listen to today, our choices, our tastes, our soft corners; all stem from a super cool history of all the music we have ever been exposed to. Like I said, we build up on that repertoire, that stash of everything amazing that makes us who we are and who we choose to be. If I were to go back in time, like how I did last evening where my player churned out tracks from the past, I’m left with a sense of complete and absolute timelessness. It’s like you sat on Alladin’s magical carpet and went to a time zone that really doesn’t feel alien or out of place because it is so much a part of you. Music is evergreen which really is stating the obvious considering how it has nothing to do with generations. Kids who are still to be conceived will headbang to heavy metal of the 80s and grannies, I heard AvB saying, tuned in at 11pm to catch his live cast, from their grandsons’ BBs at that. So yes, music is everybody’s magical carpet ride to places very personal, subjective and special. That’s where I was last evening as I lay spread-eagle in bed. And that’s how I decided to get up and write this to you the first thing today morning.

The one thing I am ever so grateful for is that we were brought up to love and live on music. I used to wake up to music, especially on weekends and that was one thing I really looked forward to. I would sleep in anticipation of what song or music I wake up to. Would it be an Urdu ghazal or ABBA or Neil Diamond or Stevie Wonder or would they be Bollywood tracks…every Saturday, Sunday and weekday holiday was a surprise, and very pleasantly so. Here are some of my most favourite songs that transport me back to my childhood – lazy mornings, restless afternoons, breezy evenings, mellow nights and times in between as we were growing up :)

Modern Talking has featured ever so much while I was growing up. I loved grooving to their songs and wallowing in their music. And when you have a good music system with amazing speakers, you definitely seal the deal on how music really should be heard, savoured and enjoyed. Many a morning has been welcomed with Modern Talking. Gentle yet energetic enough to pep up a morning and have one run out bed, like how children usually do.

ABBA, tell me which one of us has not grown up to this group? Mums, dads, uncles, aunts – I love them for introducing us to ABBA. This track in particular stands out because the piano and melody lured me way before I could comprehend the lyrics. The Winner Takes it All is perhaps my favourite because it’s the first of ABBA’s singles that takes me back to the comforting walls of my house as I would lie back, stare at the ceiling and float around as the world went on by.

The Carpenters are synonymous with crisp, refreshing weekend mornings as my brother and I waddled around the house in our night clothes, still letting go of sleep as we clutched glasses of bournvita and gazed out of windows. Such simple times. :)

Neil Diamond = Sundays for sure! This song in particular painted my world in every colour possible, perhaps because the song had the colour blue mentioned in it. Songs had not much meaning as much as they had feeling back then. It still is the primary way in which I savour a song – the way it feels. :)

This song was the love of my life. ‘Nuff said! :)

While all of these songs are associations of morning songs, this one by Phil Collins stands as a memory of a night song. I guess a lot of Phil Collins was played at night, especially when family friends came over and liked to have a quiet, somber evening. It made us somber too. Maybe that’s why Phil Collins was the chosen one on these occasions.

This is another track I associate as being a night song. I don’t really know why, but this is a night song to me and will always be.

So there, that’s my magic carpet ride all along the ’80s, my special songs that will always mean the world and more to me. :)

3 Responses to “For Ever and Always”

  1. The Girl Next Door November 7, 2012 at 2:37 PM #

    Yes, it is lovely how certain music takes us back to our childhood. I have always been a Bollywood girl, through and through. I woke up on Sundays to hear Appa seeing Rangoli on DD and many old songs have caught on to me. I still remember those good old Sundays whenever I see Rangoli or hear those songs.

    I haven’t heard much English music, and all of the songs you have posted here are new to me. Am trying to listen to other genres of music now… Will definitely listen to these soon. :)

    • Babushka November 7, 2012 at 2:39 PM #

      You know, Sunday mornings = jungle jungle pata chala hai, chaddi pehen ke phool khila hai :)
      Give them a listen, they’re pretty old – 80s… Hope you like them. :)

  2. Kittie Neidert November 11, 2012 at 6:11 PM #

    I couldn’t refrain from commenting. Exceptionally well written!

Comments

