Catching Up

22 Oct

October’s going by wayyy too fast. It wasn’t very long back that the last quarter of the year stepped in and now, here we are, in its last week. No!

I haven’t had the time to savour this month as I would have liked to. October has always been the  favourite month. It ushers in that part of the year I adore. I love the weather. I love the beginning of festivities it welcomes. I love how the heat makes way for crispy days. I love how it’s warm and cold and windy and sunshiney all in one. I love how it’s time for Diwali, my favourite festival. I love how everything and everyone are slowly but surely gearing up to close the year in style, courtesy their own way. There’s something very energetic and festive and familial about it and it makes me happy. Happier than any other month does. I love it because it’s nearing the year end but it isn’t the end yet which acts as a reminder but still gives me time.

So yes, October is my month in more than one way. And I would have it no other way. However, I feel like time slipped by when I wasn’t looking. It’s high time I kept up. So rapidly did October slink by that I had no idea year 25 ends in a few days. Now that is something I was/am not mentally prepared for yet. Year 25. Going, going, almost gone. And I didn’t even figure. Not happening.

I’ve been away from this space for a bit. There’s been a lot happening as usual, and at the same time there hasn’t been much either. I don’t know to explain it. There has been a lot going on in the head, in the heart, in the family, in the universe for all I care. But it’s been a time of not much otherwise. I’ve taken a short break from here, finally finished packing ma off for the family get-together, been holding fort, having friends over, baking, reading and reading and reading lots more. I finally managed to get done with “Gone with the Wind” – what a book! I have such conflicted emotions about this book – I feel so happy, sad, hopeful, hopeless, amazed, awed, you name it! And yes, I have had many a dream about the dashing Rhett Butler. *swoon*

Moving on, here’s what the weekend looked like.

When you have idle time post all the kitchen, house, bathroom cleaning with the pigs fed and snug, one tends to turn to some self beautification. Looking good = feeling good. It’s like the chicken and egg story. I can’t figure which comes first or which causes the other. All I know is that life with pretty feet is a life worth walking in. With heels, if that floats your boat because it so floats mine. :)

Then you have friends over. And you have sleepovers. And you have lots of wine. And you talk. And you eat the bread you bake. Olive stuffed focaccia and red port. Good stuff. And it fits because fresh baked bread + your house smelling like a warm, quaint Italian cafe + wine so fits the bill for the weather we’ve been having here in Bangalore (cold, windy, drizzly, rainy, overcast and so splendid!)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And then you play games like Jenga, or Truth or Dare Jenga in this case because you’re on wine. And games like Jenga become more amazing to play after you’ve emptied a glass or 2 or 3 or…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And then you head to bed post all the laughter and talk to snuggle in close the day with The Big Bang Theory till you’re lost in a dream world filled with inebriated geeks (yourself included) and an irritable Sheldon Cooper.

October allows you the pleasure of waking up to some of the most brilliant mornings, the emphasis being on October because have you seen the heat so far this year?! When you wake up to an overcast sky with fast moving clouds scurrying off with the faintest of lace drizzles, you make yourself a big pot of tea and just chill. And when you’re done with the chai chilling, you grab that bottle of coconut oil and get the best head massage you can ever dream of getting courtesy the friend who has magical fingers = more chilling. And you do this – bake a piping hot loaf of banana bread to accompany with more wine and just chillax!

Once you’ve really chilled out and start to realize that you have a stomach that has begun making its presence felt, you hurry in for the laziest bubble bath and scoot to your friend’s house for a perfect home Sunday meal. And it’s not fun if you do not belt. To belt is to eat your heart out minus wondering what everyone else around you will think or judge you to be. To belt is to eat without a care in the world and to EAT.

Anyhoo, the day ambled on languorously as the friend, the friend’s mum and I caught up over childhood stories in bed with chai. I love how friendships slowly bring families together. Talking about friendships and families, I ended my day at the pujo festivities of the Bengali Association to watch another friend dance and celebrate Durga puja in true Bengali style. More snippets on that with pictures. I leave you with this in the meantime. Bliss :)

2 Responses to “Catching Up”

  1. The Girl Next Door October 22, 2012 at 4:35 PM #

    I love, love, love this post. :) It is so much me. :)

    I love all the pics, especially the last one. It is such a beautiful pic!

    I haven’t had a chance to play Jenga ever, though I have heard loads about it. I should, sometime…

    I love that shade of red on your nails. What shade is it, if you don’t mind? Coincidentally, I got a shade of red nail polish too, recently, and was thinking of doing a post on my blog about it. I think yours is the exact red that I was looking for. :)

    Yes, it is so amazing that October is almost coming to an end! I can’t believe that 2012 is drawing to an end too! I didn’t realise – this year just flew by me!!

    Bangalore weather is gorgeous these days – true! And waking up to a cloudy and overcast day – bliss! I love such days! :)

    I have always wanted to see Durga Pooja celebrations in a Bengali home or at a Bengali association, but never had the chance to do so. Where in Bangalore are the festivities held? Still on?

    • Babushka October 23, 2012 at 9:29 AM #

      :) You should get yourself Jenga and have a go at it. It’s just a pain to re-stack when the tower falls.

      And what I have on my nails is a shocking pink of sorts – Lakme 24 – seeing as to how I love bright colours :D

      And this pujo I went for is at the RBNAMS or RBANMS grounds near Ulsoor. I’m sure almost every locality will have it’s own Bengali association pandal. This one is pretty big though. You might want to go check it out fast considering today is Navami :)

Comments

