An Everyday Thanksgiving

30 Aug

This photograph by Stephanie Sinclair featured in National Geographic‘s piece on Child Brides is of a 16 year old girl leaving her home to her husband’s place in Nepal.

Make what you have to off it. This one stopped me in my tracks and led me straight here. I don’t think I will ever know what it really, really, really is like to be a woman; in the largest sense of being a woman in a very universal context. I will not know what it is like to be this 16 year old girl, or the other girls who are married off at the ages they are. I will not know what it is like. I cannot imagine it.

I’m not broaching the subject of child marriage here. Neither am I going to talk about social and cultural rights. I am just going to sit here and take a moment and reflect on what it takes to be a girl. Or a woman. And to live in the world I live in. I won’t know what it is to be anyone else but me.

And at this very moment, I have nothing more to offer than thanksgiving. In a very selfish, crude way. I don’t know what you would do.

2 Responses to “An Everyday Thanksgiving”

  1. The Girl Next Door September 1, 2012 at 10:33 AM #

    This photograph chilled me to the bones, to the very pit of my stomach. It is a picture that is going to stay with me for a long, long time to come. As you say, I will never know what it is like to be this girl. In a selfish and crude way, I too am thankful.

    PS: Came to your blog while randomly blog-hopping. Don’t remember what brought me here, but I am glad I am here. Loved your posts. Blog-rolling you. Will be back to read more.

    • Babushka September 11, 2012 at 1:29 PM #

      Thanks for stopping by! :)

Comments

