1 Dec

As I teach my students Achievement Motivation, I can’t help but reflect and apply some of those concepts to my life.


Need for Achievement: a stable and learned characteristic in which satisfaction is obtained by striving for and attaining a level of excellence.


I don’t need to be told that I possess strong characteristics of n Ach as it is called. I certainly possess all the traits that this need elaborates on. 


And I mean ALL. Including the fact that there’s a limit one sets for oneself. Including the fact that no matter how good I am, I do not need to prove myself to others and the sad part is that this is exactly when I need to prove myself to others.


I constantly realize that maybe I’m not meant for this rat race







I realize that I wish to do things at my pace and achieve things as and when opportunities arise instead of constantly striking off tasks after tasks accomplished. I do not want to go through the rut that everyone else does. Which means that I wish to do my further studies if and when I please and that I wish to many many other things to make my life that much more enriched. But unfortunately, everything comes at a price. So it goes to say that if I don’t do what i HAVE to essentially do, and now, then I would’ve lost my chance.


And my life to me is not about grasping at things and running far away from lost chances. My life is about being who I want to be, when I want to be and what I want to be. At my convenience rather than the convenience of others. 


My life is about making most of chances and opportunities, not grappling at lost chances.



4 Responses to “”

  1. - Ubiquitous - December 1, 2010 at 5:47 PM #

    :)Am glad your life's this way.Mine is too.The joy, then, of knowing we did it our way and not whatever people told us to do, is much much more rewarding. :)

  2. Babushka December 2, 2010 at 1:45 PM #

    yeah… but i wish to get there sometime in my life..

  3. Reynah December 2, 2010 at 5:16 PM #

    I know you will.

  4. Babushka December 2, 2010 at 5:21 PM #

    we all will, i'm sure. it's just the journey that can get frustrating at times.

Comments

